Ukraine Caucus Statement on Savchenko Release

May 25, 2016
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressional Ukraine Caucus co-chairs Sander Levin (D-MI), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), and Mike Fitzpatrick (R-PA), and caucus members Ryan Costello (R-PA), Rosa DeLauro(D-CT),  Robert Dold (R-IL), Dan Lipinski (D-IL), Nita Lowey (D-NY) Carolyn Maloney (D-NY), Tim Murphy (R-PA), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Dave Reichert (R- WA), and Adam Smith (D-WA) today released the following statement on the release of Ukrainian Member of Parliament and Fighter Pilot Nadiya Savchenko:

“We welcome the news of the release of Nadiya Savchenko. Our thoughts are also with her family and loved ones.  Throughout her imprisonment and trial, Savchenko has come to represent the spirit of an independent Ukraine, free from interference and eager to embrace the will of its own people. Her case touched communities from across the globe who united to advocate for her release. 

“We continue to condemn Russia’s handling of Savchenko’s capture, trial, and sentencing. Russian authorities repeatedly delayed trial and hearing dates, moved her trial, and restricted access both to witnesses and the independent press. Once again, we call on Russian authorities to respect the rule of law and release all those held unlawfully in Russian custody.”