Rep. Maloney Votes to Protect Access to the Ballot and Pass the Voting Rights Advancement Act

Dec 6, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC- Today, Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12) voted to pass H.R. 4, the Voting Rights Advancement Act, critical legislation to restore the full strength of the landmark Voting Rights Act of 1965 and to help ensure that every eligible voter can have their voices heard.


“Since the disastrous Supreme Court Shelby v. Holder decision, states and localities with histories of racial injustice have again started implementing discriminatory voting practices that disenfranchise countless Americans, especially people of color. I was proud to join my colleagues today in passing the Voting Rights Advancement Act, to give the federal government the tools it needs to hold local elected officials accountable for voter suppression tactics designed to silence our most vulnerable and underrepresented communities. So many brave Americans have made the ultimate sacrifice to protect the most basic and fundamental of American rights- the right to vote. By passing this legislation, we honor their sacrifice and ensure that Americans in communities across our nation can exercise their right without interference or discrimination.”



The Voting Rights Advancement Act reestablishes full protections for voters in states with a recent history of discrimination.  Among its key provisions, the bill:

  • In response to the Supreme Court decision, provides a new coverage formula that determines which jurisdictions are subject to preclearance, based on current conditions.
  • Also establishes “practice-based preclearance,” focusing administrative or judicial review narrowly on suspect practices that are most likely to be tainted by discriminatory intent or to have discriminatory effects, as demonstrated by a broad historical record.


Following the Shelby v. Holder decision, at least 23 states have enacted voter suppression laws, including voter purges, strict ID requirements, poll closures and curtailing of early voting hours.