Members of New York Congressional Delegation Make Renewed Call for Governor Cuomo's Resignation

Aug 3, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C. — Today, after the release of a state investigation report that found Governor Andrew Cuomo had fostered a culture of workplace misconduct and had sexually harassed numerous women, Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), along with Reps. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY), Brian Higgins (D-NY), Nydia Velazquez (D-NY), Ritchie Torres (D-NY), Yvette Clarke (D-NY), Kathleen Rice (D-NY), Grace Meng (D-NY), Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Jamaal Bowman (D-NY), Mondaire Jones (D-NY), and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY) released the following statement:

“Sexual harassment is an extremely serious transgression, and we stand with the brave women who have come forward to share their experiences working for and around Governor Andrew Cuomo. It is clear that he engaged in inappropriate, unlawful, and abusive behavior.

The Attorney General's report is deeply disturbing, clear, and thorough. For the good of New York State, Andrew Cuomo must resign. If he does not, the New York State Assembly must begin impeachment proceedings.

"We note with interest Governor Cuomo's own May 17, 2013 statement calling on Assembly Member Vito Lopez to “resign, effective immediately” when the Assembly investigation announced its findings: ‘there should be a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to sexual harassment and we must now send a clear message that this behavior is not tolerated.’ We agree.”