Sep 21, 2001
Press Release

NEW YORK: Today, Congresswoman Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY) and Congressman Vito Fossella (R-NY) introduced a House Resolution honoring Mayor Rudolph Giuliani, the rescue workers, and the residents of New York City for their valiant efforts in responding to the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center.

House Resolution 243 recognizes Mayor Giuliani's "unwavering leadership and valor in this time of crisis" and his quick and decisive command of the city's response to the terrorist attack. It also honors the countless public servants, institutions and private citizens from both within and beyond New York who risked their lives to rescue victims and provide immediate emergency care to the injured. The resolution specifically cites the New York City Fire Department, the New York City Police Department, the Emergency Medical Service (EMS), numerous city agencies, hospitals and health care professionals, safety engineers and construction workers.

"Through their selfless attempts to save innocent people, hundreds of rescue workers made the ultimate sacrifice on September 11," said Rep. Maloney. "All New Yorkers owe these individuals, and those who survived, our eternal gratitude. We thank Mayor Giuliani for his vital role in managing the rescue effort and holding the fabric of the city together. And we are inspired by the great courage, unbounded volunteerism and enduring spirit of the people of NewYork, who in the face of this tragedy have shown why New York City's darkest hour was also its finest hour."

"In the grief and tragedy of the past ten days, I have seen the spirit and soul of America - and I am proud to call myself an American," said Rep. Fossella. "We have witnessed unspeakable tragedy but also acts of great heroism. And we have seen the true meaning of leadership in the actions of Rudy Giuliani, George Pataki and the brave firefighters, police officers and emergency service workers who represent the very best of America. Today, we seek to honor their heroism, their determination and their spirit in keeping America strong and proud during this difficult time."

The resolution is co-sponsored by Reps. Peter King, Gil Gutknecht, Edolphus Towns, John Doolittle, Silvestre Reyes, Benjamin Gilman, Eliot Engel, Amor Houghton, Jr., Charles Rangel, Carolyn McCarthy, Sherwood Boehlert, Collin Peterson and Michael McNulty.